Wednesday, December 28, 2011
But today (a 7-hour shift. OMG, thank goodness) I realized how much I missed the store :( Got to work with Mel, Sam & Nicole for the first time in Classic Designs history (well technically I got yesterday, haha) I'm actually pretty sad. I missed going to work and interacting with people my age Vs. now when I just interact with younger kids. I missed my coworkers even though I'm not close to all of them & my "new favorites" are gone. I missed singing at work & being a gangster even though I wear Disney stuff. I missed sticking paper on people's backs and wheeling around the store in chairs. I missed taking breaks longer than supposed to, and being allowed to go out & get food and have it not counted towards our breaks. I missed people my age. I missed talking about stupid stuff. Man, I'm going to miss all this when this week ends, even though they're "grown up" 8-hour days. 37 scheduled hours this week. That's almost a full time job. I want to be scheduled for the 31st too, just so I can get the feel for a full time job, even if it's just a week.
I'm really going to miss the store after this week :( Least I was able to work for a week during Winter though. Usually they don't need the help. & I'm going to miss how chill it's been. I mean.. during the summer it's chill in the beginning, but there's always new employees and it's awkward in the beginning. And everyone has 50 different jobs and there's not much socializing. This week, everyone is working on pretty much the same project and the actual store is closed so there's no customers to worry about. & we don't even have to wear our work polos. It's just so chill. We're all in the front and the boombox is out & we're all singing along and laughing (Even though "loud laughing will not be tolerated"). Man, I'm going to miss this.
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
What the heck is wrong with you. You went into finals doing GREAT. You could have effin' pulled a 4.0 this semester, but instead you got too excited and too lazy and too selfish. I don't care if you're tired and you want a "5 minute nap," you don't sleep until you're finished. You screwed yourself over, this is a lesson learned. Better not mess up this last final. Oh, and by the way. START YOUR STUPID 10-PAGE PAPER DUE TOMORROW. & stop worrying about your skin. It's winter, it's also gross. I know it hurts, just ignore it.
12/14/11
EDIT:
Dear Me,
Okay, so you made up for screwing yourself over by your awesome skills on your final AND getting 20/20 on an assignment for the same class, BUT WHY DID YOU FALL ASLEEP AGAIN? You have 13 hours to produce your 10-page paper, and we both know that that's not enough time for you. Please, for me, don't get distracted. Leave your phone on the other side of the room, and after this, please unplug your internet. Just look at your progress in this class! A+, A-, A on your assignments. You can easily pull an A in this class. just get your act together. ONE LAST PAPER, then enjoy Winter Break. You can do this, we can do this.
Love,
Me
12/15/11
Monday, December 5, 2011
Word Vomit
I didn’t realize what JLC meant to me when I pledged. I had a boyfriend who really wasn’t right for me, and I went though all the requirements and pledge meetings really bitter. I honestly wasn’t very happy, and I didn’t really know who I was. During pledging I constantly thought about de-pledging. It might have been because my boyfriend wasn’t that supportive of it, or because of the stress and all nighters, or it might have been the commitment. After pledging, my boyfriend and I broke up, and I realized that I wasn’t as connected to my friends as I thought I was. I realized that being a closed person towards my closest friends actually pushed them away. I saw all my psibs happy with each other. Everyone made their little connections and all their inside jokes, and I didn’t feel a part of that. I guess on the outside it seemed like I loved JLC and all, but I struggled calling my mommas “momma”
After all the ups & downs I’ve been through this past year, I’d like to say that JLC has seen me at my best and worst, but that would be a lie. But I can honestly say this: I’ve come close to spilling my guts a few select people, and honestly, that’s saying a lot. I trust these people, I accept them for who they are, and I really can’t imagine having another pledge class- another family.
Ultimately, I think JLC gives me a sense of belonging. As I find myself being less and less connected with AphiO, I feel like JLC still makes me happy. Everyone makes me smile and laugh. These people inspire me. I find comfort knowing that these people will stick up for me and protect me. It’s nice knowing that one year later, those who are still active are still close, and I appreciate it. I still feel the love, and I’m so proud to be a part of the pledge class called JLC.
To my two mommas: I know it couldn’t have been easy, but you guys raised 65 amazing kiddos. Mama Maritza, you really do inspire me. You’ve done so much, and I really hope to accomplish as much as you one day, or just strive to be more involved on campus. & Momma Shelsy, my PE, I remember my trick to remembering that you were PE was because you seemed like more of a teacher, but ultimately, you’re more like a mother. You’re super caring & super loving, and I can’t speak for everyone, but I feel like you give each one of your kiddos their own personal attention, and that’s all I could ask for in a pledge class so huge. I appreciate that so much, really.
JLC 65 Strong, One Year Strong
All this font would make my Tumblr look ugly and tacky, so Blogspot will have to do.