Saturday, August 29, 2009

My Cheesy College Experience!

Want to hear a pizza joke?
I can't it's
too cheesy!

One week down and here I am!
So I had a few things happen since I moved in on the 19th, but I guess I'll just list them so it makes an easy read.

August 19, 2009
  • Move-in Day!
  • Farewell, Parents
  • Oh Captain, My Captain with Deborah!
  • Ice Cream Social
  • Connect Four with Bernee & Natalie!
August 20, 2009
  • Scavenger Hunt
  • SJSU's Got Talent
  • Speed Meeting (With STD questions & condom give outs & condom compacts)
  • Asian Consent Poster! (I grabbed it & put it on my wall because they're Asian!)
  • Meeting people across from Ryan's dorm
  • Awkward Dance! (Ryan doesn't dance, seriously!)
  • Fail at playing Scrabble with Bernee & Deborah & Ryan
August 21, 2009
  • Lindsay moves in!
  • Bought books- so expensive
  • Hang out
  • BBQ - bor-ing
  • Bernee & my ninja status to see MJ's room!
  • Watched guys hula hoop
  • Drunk line test!
  • Karaoke & No System of a Down for Cameron to sing
  • Fail at playing Scrabble with Deborah, Natalie, Ryan, Nathan, Christella, & Derek
  • Crash at Deborah's! (Because heard there was a party on my floor & SOME GIRL was super drunk & some guy was taking advantage of her)
August 22, 2009
  • Officially 18th!
  • Still crashed at Deborah's!
  • Hang out
  • Jenn & Ash move in!
  • "Worked out" (If cycling counts as working out)
  • Comedy Night
  • Hang out with Ryan & MJ's
  • Very sad without Bernee OR Deborah.
August 23, 2009
  • WAFFLES are so good here!
  • Voices of Men
  • Dorm food pot luck!
  • Tap Ex
  • Hang out
  • Met upperclassmen skaters
August 24, 2009
  • FIRST DAY of CLASSES!
  • Intro to International Relations: Nice teacher, still feels like high school
  • LLD1: (Remedial, yuck) CANCELED!
  • Housing meeting
  • Attempt to play pool
  • AIR HOCKEY TABLE BROKE MY BABY! (Camera)
  • I MISS MY CAMERA
August 25, 2009
  • Bio Lecture: Class of 150! Wow.
  • LLD1: (Still Remedial, still yuck): Reminds me of 6th grade teacher
  • Intro to Sociology: I FELL asleep! EPIC FAIL.
  • Hang out, heeeeeeey
  • Attempt to play pool
  • Housing won't cover damages on my camera
August 26, 3009
  • NO CLASSES. (Budget cuts)
  • Over 2 Hours in the DC, whaaaat?
  • Asked around for the recycling, SOME GUYS THOUGHT I WAS DRUNK
  • 4 RANDOM guys came in my room looking for my roommate
  • Hang out!
  • 10 Fingers/Skanky Hoe
August 27, 2009
  • Bio Lecture
  • LLD1: In class essay
  • Sociology: Interesting & texted during whole class!
  • FREE movie! Inglorious Bastards! Super funny
  • Ping Pong/Pool!
  • Are you nervous yet?
August 28, 2009
  • Had a GREAT morning!
  • Shared a waffle with a guy named Avery
  • Made a Shirley Temple =)
  • Saw Rendell's room & suitemates (Ew.)
  • Everyone except for Sophia, Christella & me goes home
  • Tap Ex!
  • Walked to the building across campus, only to find out it was closed
  • FREE JAMBA!
  • Drank my soup with a guy named Joe!
  • BOWLING with Sophia, Christella & Anna (The only ones left!) I got a strike!
  • Watched hecka pro ping pong-ers!
  • Tap Ex & Apples to Apples!
  • Went to 7-11
  • Bought my first scratcher! - didn't win anything
  • Ping Pong
  • Fell off Sophia's bed
  • Went to 7-11
  • Fatties while watching sports!
  • I fell asleep on my floor
  • Rode the elevator with some loud (possibly drunk) people
  • I was supposed to play water pong, but we didn't have any red cups

& that, my friends, is my
cheesy college experience so far.

Sunday, August 23, 2009

So Close I Can Touch It

It's been 13 days since I last updated this blog. In that time I: finished working for the summer, wipeout-ed my laptop, lost pretty much all my stuff, packed for college, planned my first birthday party, tried to manage my ever-growing list of things to do, and most importantly moved into college!

For those of you who don't know, I will be attending
San Jose State University starting this Monday. I moved-in on the 19th of August, which was early because of the "Frosh Start" program. With college starting on Monday, I feel as if I can socially survive college. I've met so many new people, and it feels as if these people are genuine. (Of course ironically they're all Asian. I lean towards Asian people unknowingly...until now)
I've made friends, some I feel like I trust (
dare I say it) enough to go to a party with.

For those of you who don't know,
I am a Christian. I say this because. Well, it seems to show a lot in college. They way I behave and everything.... well I've had it pointed out to me already. Is this is good or bad? Am I helping people make attempts at "reading" me by giving them more reason for me to fit into a stereotype? Who knows.

I'm still scared though- for my Faith. I don't think I am a very strong Christian, so I am very afraid. I keep thinking about Joey (My youth pastor) and his words on Black & White Night (Similar to a graduation at my church). He was sharing a story of a girl who just... put her Faith on hold when she went to college; she thought she could just pick it up after college. Besides that, she got involved with things like parties, drinking, and drugs.

As far as adjusting, the first night was pretty hard. I didn't even give a proper farewell to my parents. After that first night, everything just seemed to
click. I feel as if God, just answered my prayers from the night before. I felt so much more at peace. As for now, well that belongs in a different blog entry.

I am so close to being a real college student, so close I can touch it.

Monday, August 10, 2009

Banana Boxes

So as I said before, I work at a uniform store.
What I failed to mention is I tend to spend a good amount of time in the back. What does the back of a uniform store look like exactly? Well, we have a lot of banana boxes. You heard me right. I know. Kind of weird. The sad thing is I never realized we had banana boxes until I was working in the front of the store, filling up sweat shirts, when a little boy asked his dad, "Why do they have banana boxes?" Only then did I realize:
1. We have banana boxes (Big shocker there)
2. I bet I look really weird carrying around banana boxes in a clothing store
3. We have a crap load of banana boxes!

Am I really that unobservant?