I am currently pooped & I when I review today's events, I don't have a right to be.
So what exactly did I do today? I went to work. I guess to most people that doesn't mean much because it's apart of their daily schedule. I have a summer job- the same one I had last summer.
I work at a uniform store.
It's not that I'm ashamed at where I work or anything. I mean, the pay's good. The atmosphere isn't bad. It's pretty chill. Here's the thing: I'm not a good worker.
Honestly, I'm just afraid of making mistakes and causing the store to suffer. I'm afraid of doing something wrong and getting yelled at or fired. But most of all, I am afraid of public failure. (Just last year, I realized public failure is my motivation... in everything BUT work. That's not necessarily true, but it's too hard to fully describe.)
So because I have a huge fear of public failure, I ask questions about everything I do. I'm sure it gets annoying, but like I mentioned before, I'm afraid of doing something wrong. So yes, I ask a lot of questions, I double check before I do anything. I work slowly to insure nothing goes wrong.
Like I said, I'm just not a good worker.
I am such a newbie when it comes to anything at work, too. This is my second summer returning and I honestly don't know how to do much of anything. I still don't have many of the codes memorized. Plus I forgot my plaids. People that have been there as long as me know pretty much everything already.
Today, one of my managers talked to me. She's really cool because she's so understanding. She does have a point though- I need confidence. She was telling me how I need to be able to do things quickly and efficiently.
I have confidence, it's just lacking at work.
So yes. Today was just one of those really long days. I worked with sweatshirts for most of the day, failed at a few tasks, asked a bunch of questions, learned how to do scrip cards, prepared for the next school sale, worked with some customers, and vacuumed a whole lot.
There are so many questions I need to ask.
1. When I'm cashiering, how can I remove items?
2. If it's under $100, how do the scrip cards work?
3. How do I do returns?
4. If a girl scout comes in, what do I do?
I have more, but I can't think of any at the moment
So after work today, my family went to my uncle's house for a BBQ and I was really tired. I'm talking 6PM-ready-to-KO tired. Right now I'm okay, but I should get some rest. Goodnight.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
This comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteAhhh I accidentally posted a comment under my mom's account. Sorry! Yay I love reading about work (aside from the fact we share a common workplace)! Don't worry I have an epic fear of public failure too (probably worse than yours). It's just that I'm more comfortable with the tasks at hand because I've had all year to practice. I too ask a whole bunch of questions! You just have to practice doing the same tasks until you get comfortable with them, then move onto new tasks!
ReplyDeleteTo answer your questions:
1. To remove items, scroll back up to the item you want to remove and delete the numbers in the row, then press enter.
2. I haven't done scrip cards, but I think you just redeem the whole card, then put the change on store credit.
3. Scan the item, then go back up to the item and press F5, then put negative the quantity. On the old receipt, circle/bracket the items the customer's returning and write return and the date (and your initials if you want). Then if you're crediting their card, put the amount of credit on the right column. On the credit card machine, press 4 twice (I think?) then type in the amount of credit. Tada!
4. Usually they will know what they want, so just show them the stuff in the cabinets under the counter.