I am currently pooped & I when I review today's events, I don't have a right to be.
So what exactly did I do today? I went to work. I guess to most people that doesn't mean much because it's apart of their daily schedule. I have a summer job- the same one I had last summer.
I work at a uniform store.
It's not that I'm ashamed at where I work or anything. I mean, the pay's good. The atmosphere isn't bad. It's pretty chill. Here's the thing: I'm not a good worker.
Honestly, I'm just afraid of making mistakes and causing the store to suffer. I'm afraid of doing something wrong and getting yelled at or fired. But most of all, I am afraid of public failure. (Just last year, I realized public failure is my motivation... in everything BUT work. That's not necessarily true, but it's too hard to fully describe.)
So because I have a huge fear of public failure, I ask questions about everything I do. I'm sure it gets annoying, but like I mentioned before, I'm afraid of doing something wrong. So yes, I ask a lot of questions, I double check before I do anything. I work slowly to insure nothing goes wrong.
Like I said, I'm just not a good worker.
I am such a newbie when it comes to anything at work, too. This is my second summer returning and I honestly don't know how to do much of anything. I still don't have many of the codes memorized. Plus I forgot my plaids. People that have been there as long as me know pretty much everything already.
Today, one of my managers talked to me. She's really cool because she's so understanding. She does have a point though- I need confidence. She was telling me how I need to be able to do things quickly and efficiently.
I have confidence, it's just lacking at work.
So yes. Today was just one of those really long days. I worked with sweatshirts for most of the day, failed at a few tasks, asked a bunch of questions, learned how to do scrip cards, prepared for the next school sale, worked with some customers, and vacuumed a whole lot.
There are so many questions I need to ask.
1. When I'm cashiering, how can I remove items?
2. If it's under $100, how do the scrip cards work?
3. How do I do returns?
4. If a girl scout comes in, what do I do?
I have more, but I can't think of any at the moment
So after work today, my family went to my uncle's house for a BBQ and I was really tired. I'm talking 6PM-ready-to-KO tired. Right now I'm okay, but I should get some rest. Goodnight.
Sunday, July 26, 2009
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)