Thursday, June 10, 2010

Sandwiches

Photo by Jen Wong

I'm very tempted to make a sandwich just to take a picture of a sandwich for my blog. After some thinking, I decided that doing that would be a little weird. Instead, here's a picture of a deviled egg. I made some deviled eggs yesterday because I was bored.

Do you like sandwiches?

I guess it's a weird question to ask a person, but I guess it's been on my mind a lot. I don't really like sandwiches unless they're deli made, or someone makes it & it's super yummy. I also don't put cheese in my sandwiches. Am I really that strange? I know the topic seems pretty off, but as I was making sandwiches for Kevin the other day, I had a realization. Is a sandwich like a resume?

A person has their name & contact info- the two pieces of bread. From there, the person adds their education, work experience, extra curricular activities, and references- meat, cheese, vegetables, condiments. Each sandwich is different, and only certain sandwiches stand out. Does that mean each one of us are employers? Employers pick employees based on what's in their sandwich. This kind of scares me. Does that mean there are people there they won't pick me because of my resume? Because I'm a crappy sandwich? I have nothing good to put in my sandwich, and it's really sad because one day I'll have to get a job- a real job.

Speaking of jobs, I have orientation again for my summer job at the uniform store this week. I'm kind of nervous I guess, but so much has changed this past year, and I'm going to try my best this summer. If you've followed my blog from the beginning, I mention a lot of my insecurities at work, but I really want to change this summer. I'll be different. I'll succeed this time. I also had a realization that I need money. I feel kind of stupid for saying that & thinking that, because technically I really don't need money. I really hate how materialistic some people are, and I'm afraid I'm just turning into another one of those people. Money's been on my mind a lot though, but I'll save those thoughts for another entry.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

It Takes Two to (Swing) Dance

Photo by Jen Wong

Here's a picture of gingerbread men! Why, you ask? Well look at them! There's two of them! I know what you're thinking. 'Why is the number two so significant?' Well, in swing dance, two people dance, and today's topic of the day is Swing Dance! It makes sense, right? I hope it does 'cause I really had no idea what kind of picture to post up.

So this semester I took Swing Dance at 830AM! Yikes! I don't recommend taking an 830 class unless you know you'll make it to class. When I first took the class, it was okay. I enjoyed it, but I just got so intimidated by my classmates. Everyone (and I mean everyone) seemed to know what they were doing, and I was just struggling to keep up with the class. I guess I found out that I enjoy dancing, but I'm not very good at it, and I'm a slow learner. It makes me sad because I really, really hate being bad at things.

Anyways, when because I wasn't really good, I ended up skipping class... a lot more than I should have. Here's a tip: if you're taking a dance class, don't skip two days in a row, seriously. It killed me. At one point I skipped over two weeks of class, and I missed basically all of the Lindy Hop (Which just so happened to be my favorite. Sad Jen.) Anyways, because I missed class so much and I really didn't like it very much, I didn't even have a partner for my midterm! Luckily, some guy was looking for a partner via email, so I emailed him and got a partner that way. & we both skipped class a lot, go figure.

When it came to the final, I ended up partnering with Taylor when I saw him at a dance lesson outside of class. We weren't too bad, if I do say so myself. Anyways, we did West Coast Swing, which is a really laid back dance. It's supposed to look really relaxed, and the dancers just kind of walk the steps. Bud told us to pretend we were the coolest people in the room. We danced to Lady Gaga's Paparazzi. Anyways, here's our dance final! We got 100% on it! Bud said he knew how much work we put into it.